Photos for Visa

I had all my documents completed and the last thing was to get my 2 recent, specific photos to include with my application. I thought that I could go to the same place(s) that I could get my US passport photos, but found out I was wrong. I called CVS, Target, Walgreens, and a few other photo centers that do US passport photos and asked if they could do the specific size for my UK photos (4.5 x 3.5 cm). They all told me they were not able to do it – some weren’t able to change the size at all and others couldn’t get it to that specification because of the way their printing machines are set up. My options were growing smaller.

I considered going to a specialty photography place, but I didn’t have the time nor did I want to spend any more money, so I found a great solution:

http://www.epassportphoto.com/ !!

I highly recommend it for anyone who has a good camera to take high-quality photos and is short on time/money.

  1. You select the country (UK – size 4.5 x 3.5 cm) and click “get my passport photos”
  2. Take a picture following their guidelines and those of the UKBA (see below)
  3. Upload the photo from your computer/camera
  4. Ensure compliance by moving the preview box over the face/specified areas
  5. Choose where you want the pictures to be printed (you can pick up in store or ship them)
  6. Pay (about $8) and get your photos!

The process was quick, easy, and inexpensive. I hope this is a good solution for some of you who were in the same situation. Just be sure to follow all the UKBA rules – you don’t want your application rejected/held up because you couldn’t get the pictures right. Remember: NO SMILING! 🙂

The UKBA photo guidelines can be found at the following sites:

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/visas-immigration/partners-families/citizens-settled/spouse-cp/documents/photo-passport/

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/sitecontent/applicationforms/visa-photo-guidance.pdf

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Contents of Application, UKBA

Leave a comment